would like to say Welcome!

Hello family, friends, acquaintances, and strangers!

Welcome to my first blog post EVER! I am totally new to the whole blogging world so forgive me as it may take some time for me to get the hang of things!

I’ve always thought of having my own blog ever since I became nutrition major at Texas Christian University (Fall 2011). College can be a tough journey for many especially in the food department. All of sudden you are no longer living under the roof of your parents, no longer getting called to the dinner table when supper is ready, no longer enjoying lunches packed by your mother. You are on your own and it is up to YOU to continue to feed and nourish your body properly. Well, as it is all too common in our American society, many kids slip into unhealthy eating patterns…

  • Gorging on tons of fast foodmessy-fast-food-hamburger
  • Skipping meals (especially breakfast)
  • Drinking (beer bellies are real ya’ll!)
  • Consuming immeasurable amounts of energy drinksenergydrinks
  • Having dessert at every meal because it’s free in the dining hall 

and a bunch of other harmful habits. I wasn’t about to let that happen to me though. Being nutrition major has made me grow even more passionate about healthy, clean eating (and of course exercise too). Now it’s not to say I don’t enjoy something unhealthy from time to time. Life is too short and there’s no need to restrict yourself completely! BUT, we were given these beautiful bodies to take care of and nurture with whole unprocessed foods.Image-1 50-clean-eating-superfoods-Not McFlurrys from McDonald’s or Honey Butter Chicken Biscuits from Whataburger! =p

I am therefore starting this blog because I desire to impact others (especially you college kids out there!) to make healthier choices! I want to share my nutritional knowledge as well as document my cooking endeavors. What’s the point of experimenting in the kitchen by yourself!? I want to share in my trials, errors, failures, and successes! So please, join me in my journey.

If you have any questions or comments please don’t hesitate to contact me! I’m here for you! You can either post your question directly on the blog or shoot me an email at: laceytmckee@yahoo.com.

 

Thank you all for reading this and I hope you stick around! 😉

 

God bless,

Lacey a.k.a. “This Little Chickpea”

